Author Topic: How do you catch snow from auger in your ice shack?  (Read 1552 times)

Offline fishingonly2002

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • 1st in State
How do you catch snow from auger in your ice shack?
« on: Jan 16, 2007, 07:29 PM »
Ok, well I am new to the ice shack thing, and found very quickly that fireing up your auger and drilling a hole will quickly and evenly coat your floor with a nice SLUSH!  Well I dont take kindly to have a soaking wt floor, and its getting old.

how does one prevent such a thing huh? I saw something designed for it that costs 50 bucks, but im not ready to pay that much for something I could probably make on my own.

I was thinking maybe cutting the bottom of a bucket out, and putting the auger through it, and then drilling the hole, then I could clean my hole and put the slugh into a different bucket? does that sound like it would work? any tips on this would be awesome, thanks guys.

~Neal
Life is an art designed by those who live it.

Offline jigmasterjr

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: How do you catch snow from auger in your ice shack?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 16, 2007, 07:32 PM »
if you have a portable, i set mine up where i want it then go inside and mark where my holes should be by chipping some ice. Then I move my shelter back a bit drill my holes and then move it right back over the cleaned out holes. Hope this helps

Offline fishingonly2002

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • 1st in State
« Reply #2 on: Jan 16, 2007, 07:40 PM »
yeah, that's what I'll do for my portable, cant believe I havn't thought of that  ::)

but moving my 8X8 evert time I drill a hole could be troublesome. my 8X8 sits a good 10- 12 inches off the ice, will the slush still get onto my floor if Im up that high?

~Neal

grumpymoe

« Reply #3 on: Jan 16, 2007, 07:42 PM »