Author Topic: Lake trout  (Read 3232 times)

Offline Icecoast

• IceShanty Rookie
Lake trout
« on: Jan 20, 2021, 07:09 PM »
Hi I live in southern NH ane I am fairly new to ice fishing. I am looking to target lake trout this weekend. Not asking for any spots but was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction? I was thinking about trying 19 mile bay? Tried alton last week around the gazebo but didnt even have a follow from 7 to 5pm. Just a bunch of dink perch. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Offline stripernut

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Tight Lines!
Re: Lake trout
« Reply #1 on: Jan 20, 2021, 10:13 PM »
The key I always find when I am fishing Lakers thru the ice is to move till you find them. I often get them shallower than many people fish... <1' in front of a stream with lots of smelts around... Rocky points, front and sides. It is not uncommon (if I am not finding fish) for me to cut more than 50 holes... But that is rare.

Offline AQUAASSASSIN

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #2 on: Jan 21, 2021, 04:38 AM »
Heading to alton this weekend and it will be my first time. Not asking for any spots but do people catch lake trout there? Looking for any tips or suggestions. This will be my first time there and first time targeting lake trout.

Soooo, you did, or you didn’t fish Alton? This was two days ago?
You count your years by the Winters.

It’s not being Cocky if you can back it up.

Offline Panzertank831

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 21, 2021, 05:04 AM »
Ive been working on targeting lakers specifically this season, and it can be tricky.. I've been targeting smaller lakes. I feel the big lakes can be a tougher to decipher the bite for big predatory fish. It's so much harder to get on the spot without experience and some motorized transportation.. 
I've been pulling up a few smaller lakers up in the white mountains region in the last couple of weeks, and I would be happy to get out with you and get on some fish!