Equipment Board Sponsor Eyoyo Underwater Cameras

Author Topic: helix 5 g2 chirp  (Read 2045 times)

Offline icecaptain14

  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
helix 5 g2 chirp
« on: Feb 15, 2020, 07:57 PM »
so i bought the helix this past week and finally took it out today i was fishing in 9.5 ft of water is their a way i can set the sonar so it stops jumping up and down between the depths like a normal flasher or do i just need to get used to this jumping

Offline Muggsy

  • IceShanty Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 92
Re: helix 5 g2 chirp
« Reply #1 on: Feb 15, 2020, 08:20 PM »
Manually set your depth to a couple of feet below bottom to start with and see if it helps.
Maybe someday I'll think of something clever to write here...but I doubt it.

Offline Unclegillhunter

  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • **
  • Posts: 1,924
  • Ice So Nice
Re: helix 5 g2 chirp
« Reply #2 on: Feb 16, 2020, 06:58 AM »
What Muggsy said. If you don't already know Hb has a good set of instruction videos. I think you can go to their website to access them.
Keep it safe! JDL

Offline sparksNfishing

  • IceShanty Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: helix 5 g2 chirp
« Reply #3 on: Feb 24, 2020, 09:13 PM »
I noticed mine does this but its set to switch between 21 and 15 degree cone angles. You can have it one or the other or have it switch between the two. I have not manual set my depths yet as mentioned above. I'm going to try setting it manually next trip out.

Offline Unclegillhunter

  • Team IceShanty Maniac
  • **
  • Posts: 1,924
  • Ice So Nice
Re: helix 5 g2 chirp
« Reply #4 on: Feb 25, 2020, 11:08 AM »
I donít think switching back and forth between cone angles would change the depth read outs. I canít verify that manually setting the depth would stop the issue that the op is asking about, as Inhabe been set mine from the start. Ir ice in my area is done or I would do a test. Good luck!
Keep it safe! JDL

Offline LIVINtheLIFE

  • IceShanty Rookie
  • **
  • Posts: 9
Re: helix 5 g2 chirp
« Reply #5 on: Mar 26, 2020, 05:41 PM »
Manually setting your depth should help, I have the same unit. If you have your depth set on Auto sometimes I find the unit can get confused if itís picking something else up but itís rare. Restarting the unit or unplugging and plugging in your transducer may help as well. And for cone angle/range I usually leave it on auto unless Iím around or deeper then say 30ft depth. Then I will lock it on the narrow cone setting.

 



Follow Iceshanty at Twitter Iceshanty Facebook Page Iceshanty Youtube Channel
Iceshanty | MyFishFinder | MyHuntingForum
Contact | Disclaimer | Privacypolicy | Sponsor
© 1996- Iceshanty.com
All Rights Reserved.