Author Topic: Finding Weed beds?  (Read 530 times)

Offline Fractured

• IceShanty Rookie
Finding Weed beds?
« on: Feb 20, 2019, 01:14 PM »
Hi all.

Does anyone have any tips or input on how to find weed beds and weed bed edges while Ice fishing? 

I’m relatively new to ice fishing and I am fishing bodies of water I don’t have a ton of experience on during open water season.  Mostly targeting panfish, pike with both tip-ups and jigging but after just about any species I can get on.  I have a hummingbird ice-35, hand held gps and navionics on my phone.  I do not have an underwater camera yet.  I’m fishing lakes in northern NY.

I plan on marking some weed beds during open water this year but just wondering if anyone has any suggestions.

Thanks!

Offline Rugburn

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Carpeted boat + rough water = RUGBURN
Re: Finding Weed beds?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 20, 2019, 01:29 PM »
Most weed beds can be seen from Goggle Earth.  ;)

Offline river_scum

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • hook n cook
« Reply #2 on: Feb 20, 2019, 05:07 PM »
save drilling by shooting threw ice with the flasher.  spill some water and most times it will work good enough to see whats there.  mite not work if there is a lot of snow/milk ice on top.  pre season scouting is best.

real fishermen don't ask "where you catch those"

OANN the real story

- member here since -2003- IN.

Offline adkRoy

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
  • Beware of squirrels playing banjos
« Reply #3 on: Feb 20, 2019, 06:08 PM »
look at the shoreline.  Look for swampy areas along the lake or areas that the land has more of a flat approach to the lake. These areas tend to be more shallow and have softer/muckier bottoms that are good for weed growth.
New York State Ranger School Alumni 1994[

Offline chilly-willy

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Feb 20, 2019, 11:57 PM »