The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: The truth about Ling  (Read 1874 times)

Offline Mrobrien

• IceShanty Rookie
The truth about Ling
« on: Jan 02, 2015, 10:40 AM »
I have been catching ling for many years now and have recently been hearing a lot of different opinions about how to clean/take care of them.  I have heard from some that you have to skin them immediately because the enzymes on their skin will ruin the meat.  One guy even told me their slime is poisonous.  Other people have told me all I have to do is bleed them.  Some say to never let them freeze or their meat won't be good.

I have caught and ate 100's of them over the years and they are some of my favoriate eating fish.  Only a couple times I have had the meat not taste great, but that is usually after a few days in the fridge or after I have frozen them for a while.  I usually keep them alive on a stringer until I am ready to go home, then I simply bleed them (through gills), and hope they aren't too frozen by the time I get home.  If they are, they go in a cooler of warm water until I can work with them.

Am I doing this all wrong?  Suggestions?

Offline chumley

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: The truth about Ling
« Reply #1 on: Jan 02, 2015, 11:42 AM »
The reason to skin ling immediately is that it is much easier done then, instead when their skins freeze to the meat.

And when you take them home and thaw them to clean. the slime stinks to high heaven.

But the skin does not affect the taste, and it is not poisonous.  Old wives tales.

Offline gblomquist

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 02, 2015, 12:04 PM »
My family and I have been eating ling for as long as I can remember and the only problem we have had with cleaning/preparing them is the slime, similar to what chumley said.  Great fish for eating and always worth the slightly added pain of cleaning them with the added slime.

Offline Mrobrien

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 02, 2015, 12:07 PM »