Author Topic: tip-up rigging  (Read 2214 times)

Offline trapsht

• IceShanty Rookie
tip-up rigging
« on: Nov 29, 2005, 10:40 PM »
I haven't used tip-ups a whole heck of a lot.  I typically spool braided line to a short steel leader and a treble hook.  What do you  guys do??  I keep hearing about a "quick strike rig"..any thoughts.

Offline Duckslayer

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: tip-up rigging
« Reply #1 on: Nov 29, 2005, 11:14 PM »
Well I'm pretty much a "noob" when it comes to  :tipup: but I've been doing it for a couple years with marginal success.  I still dont' know where the best spots are or what the best rig is, but what I have tried so far I have come to a couple conclusions with:

1) I don't like treble hooks.  For some reason, and maybe it was just me, but I think the northerns can tell there's a hook or somthing.  I was fishing with my cousins and had four tipups set up.  Two had trebles and two just had big ol' hooks.  All were affixed with lively suckers.  I caught several small northern on the tipups with just hooks but none on the ones with treble hooks.

2)  I too use braided line to a steel leader, but have heard that floro-carbon (sp?) works even better.  Never tried it though.

3) Still am not totally skilled at setting the hook.  I've been told a dozen different ways on when and how to do it, but still manage to screw up.  OH well...practice makes perfect.

4)  There has to be a better way to reel up those dang spools when you're done for the day and its -30...I think I got some mean frostbite last year...

In any case, that's what I know so far.  I'm sure some of the veterans here can fill you in a lot better than I can.

-Tyler
God, it's good to be in the frozen tundra!

Offline Icefish4Life

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Nov 29, 2005, 11:59 PM »
Hi trapsht, and welcome,