The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: this is a little off topic  (Read 954 times)

Offline beerduck

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • beer and fish nut
this is a little off topic
« on: Dec 05, 2013, 06:16 PM »
but I am doing this for the ice fishing season because I am going to be traveling a lot. with that being said I changed the plugs in my 04' F150 triton today and knowing that some of you may have one, changing the plugs is as bad as it sounds.  I pave roads, I am not a mechanic but I can do some things and it took me 8 hours with four broken and four coming out.  I soaked the plugs for 4 hours in carb cleaner and they still broke off.  I did a lot of research on you tube and was very prepared for what I was getting into.  now my knees hurt, my chest hurts from leaning and kneeling on the truck and I am tired.  with that being said if any of you are thinking about doing it... hold off until after ice fishing season.  hope this gets me a couple MPG's for the lakes out west.  now its on to ice fishing.  getting my equipment ready. I feel better now that I vented... thanks for listening.

Offline Gills-only

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • When hell freezes over, I'll ice fish there too!!
Re: this is a little off topic
« Reply #1 on: Dec 05, 2013, 06:24 PM »
I.m not a mechanic either and I take to a friend who is very reasonable, hate busted knuckles

Offline jigginPig

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 05, 2013, 07:45 PM »
I just did this in my 5.4 triton a few months ago. Being prepared with the proper tools is a must! It is definitely a p.i.a. to just change plugs. Ford blew it on that plug design! I had a #5 plug misfire so I had to do it. Sorry to say, I have seen no mpg gain. Hopefully you have better luck with that! Good luck getting to your favorite fishing hole  ;D
If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bull$#!+

Offline WildOutdoorAddict

• Team IceShanty Maniac