Author Topic: New to the Tip up world  (Read 3567 times)

Offline reelmaster

• Team IceShanty Regular
New to the Tip up world
« on: Nov 03, 2005, 01:15 PM »
I was wondering what you guys think I should get. I have never used a tip up before and was wondering what is the best. I was thinking of getting the Frabill pro thermal tip up. Also what line is the best and what should I get for terminal tackle. I am going to a large hunting and fishing store this weekend so if you could give me tips before saturday that would be great.    ;D
YOu can only get skunked so many times before you have to shower, Peeeeuuuuw

Offline DRabbit

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: New to the Tip up world
« Reply #1 on: Nov 03, 2005, 01:39 PM »
I have a couple of the frabil pro thermals, they are very nice and work well. I dont have any complaints about them that i can think of.

Offline Haywood

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 03, 2005, 01:40 PM »
What kind of fish are you planning on using them for and what size auger do you use?  My pro thermal will fit in a 10 inch hole.  I have a about 6 different kinds of tip ups.  I like the Bramble style the best, but when it is cold, the ones that cover the hole completely, have their benefits.  
Line?  I use a 30-50 pound braid tip-up line and then a mono leader.  Because they dont wind tight, the braided line seams to work better, plus, when you forget them in the truck and the line freezes, you can pull the heavy line a lot harder to break it loose.
As far as terminal tackle, you are normal going to be using live bait.  For pike, I use a plain hook, sinker, and leader (the south bend invisa leaders are my favorite).  Sometimes I will go with a jig, but mainly just a plain hook.  

Offline C.C.

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • DO NOT BE AFRAID !!!!
« Reply #3 on: Nov 03, 2005, 02:07 PM »