Author Topic: Weeds under the ice  (Read 774 times)

Offline Bschrock55

• Team IceShanty Regular
Weeds under the ice
« on: Jan 16, 2013, 09:29 AM »
What changes do weeds undergo during the winter?  Does the weed edge move? Does the depth of weeds change?  Do they mostly die off? Also, how do you use your flasher to locate weed edges? How do you determine what type of bottom you are over when using a flasher?

Offline bigmike7272

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Weeds under the ice
« Reply #1 on: Jan 16, 2013, 09:36 AM »
I'm pretty new to flashers but from what I've found with weeds is that the top of the weeds will show up as a mark, sometimes strong, sometimes weak depending on how your gain is set. If that mark doesn't move when i try to attract it,  i determine it's weeds and then fish under it. I've had perch chase me to that mark that is the top of the weeds but they won't leave the weeds for fear of pike. As far as bottom composition, if your flasher is sending you a good strong signal you have a hard bottom, such as rocks or gravel. If your flasher is sending back a weak bottom signal your bottom is most likely mud.

Tell me and I'll forget. Show me and I'll remember some of it. Involve me and I will have lifetime knowledge.

-Anomymous

Offline lostman

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • ice, cold, water you say? sounds miserable... not!
« Reply #2 on: Jan 16, 2013, 09:42 AM »