Author Topic: storing the snowmobile help?  (Read 4661 times)

Offline billybob851

• Team IceShanty Regular
storing the snowmobile help?
« on: Feb 28, 2012, 09:20 PM »
this is my first year owning a sled (that I never got to use) and I was wondering what is the best way to summerize a sled. Should I drain all gas out of it and run it dry or fill it up? is there anything else I should be doing to protect the engine ect.? it is a 2007 arctic cat panther 4 stroke if that matters at all

Offline Fisherman 1

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Fish..the other white meat
Re: storing the snowmobile help?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 29, 2012, 11:16 AM »
I know it may not be new to you, but where is the manual for the machine?  They don't cut down trees, make paper and ink for no reason.  The answers in the manual or at the dealer.   Otherwise you get opinions, they are like butt holes, everyone has one and they all stink.

Offline Doubles Shooter

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Feb 29, 2012, 04:01 PM »
I just fill the tank with fresh gas and treat it with Startron and Seafoam. Run the sled a few minutes to get the treated fuel into the carbs. I then charge the battery and put the cover on it.

I start it once a month in the summer and run it till it gets warm and shut it down.

Offline hoppy

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 29, 2012, 04:34 PM »
doubles has some good advice. You should be fine with just seafoam or startron, get the track off the ground, grease up all your fittings, clean her up.