The ice fishing Wisconsin boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: sturgeon bay area  (Read 2455 times)

Offline Laker22

• IceShanty Rookie
sturgeon bay area
« on: Dec 31, 2011, 03:14 PM »
I am new to Wi and I am looking into fishing door county for whitefish and walleye. From what I have found it seems like little sturgeon bay and sand bay are the best choices for whitefish??? Do these two areas also produce walleye. Also wondering what places are the best to access the ice? Sorry for all the questions but I just want to know the safest areas to be in and possibly areas to avoid. Thanks . Any help would be greatly appreciated. :icefish:

Offline littlesturgeonguy

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: sturgeon bay area
« Reply #1 on: Dec 31, 2011, 10:09 PM »
Right now there is now ice on the bay.
Little Sturgeon, Rileys bay and Sand Bay are the popular spots for whitey's.
The best access for little sturgeon is either Carmody park or off of WoodLane Rd.
Riley's bay there is an access off of Rileys bay rd
Sand bay access is off of Sand bay Ln. (Sand bay resort) or Eliason Rd.
These areas also produce walleyes.

Offline eyesntightlines

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Beer on the ice is always nice!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 31, 2011, 11:50 PM »
Happy New Year!

Offline Laker22

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 31, 2011, 11:58 PM »
Thanks for the reply. Im assuming deep water for the whitefish and a bit shallower for the walleye?

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Jan 01, 2012, 07:30 AM »
I have caught whitefish anywhere from 6'-50'+.  The 20's are a good place to start. Most typically fish the 20-40' range. They are pretty much everywhere. The eyes are out there. They can be caught shallow at times and deeper at other times. The walleye are harder to figure out on the bay.

Offline Laker22

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Jan 01, 2012, 09:50 AM »