The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: tip up trick???  (Read 1046 times)

Offline grizinidaho

• IceShanty Rookie
tip up trick???
« on: Dec 26, 2011, 01:14 PM »
does anyone have agood tip for when a pike gets into the weeds and gets all wrapped up.  This happened to me a couple times last year and ended up breaking off twice.  Happened again the other day and was lucky enough to break the weeds off...kid I took put the flag on the wrong side and it never went off hahaha found it when we were picking up to leave nice pike for the lake, not huge but fun just wondering if anyone had a good way to deal with this.  thanks in advance

Offline TheGreenHornet

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: tip up trick???
« Reply #1 on: Dec 26, 2011, 01:22 PM »
I'm no expert but this year I shortened all of my tip-up lines to about 45-50 feet.  I figured if I'm fishing in 15 feet or less there was no need for 200 ft of line...this definetly reduced my snags last time out.  Down side is I think a few fish don't swallow it before they hit the end of the line and it get's ripped out of their mouth.  So short answer no...good luck.  I've heard of guys drilling holes and using their gaff to grab the line behind the snag if they think they have a wall hanger on...

Offline Mt.Bucket

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Dec 26, 2011, 01:32 PM »
Heavier line.
Live Free Or Die.

Offline bottlefed

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 26, 2011, 02:38 PM »
Run the lake in the summer with a fish finder and steer clear of heavy weeds and willows. I know this isnt an option for everyone but its the easiest solution we have found. Or like said before shorten up the line on your tip ups. I have not learned the lakes very well but luckily my father in law is usually there to point me in the right direction.
Team Fishing F.U.C.S.    Secret poles and secret holes!

Offline oldflatlander

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Dec 26, 2011, 06:28 PM »