The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Walleye  (Read 2434 times)

Offline JC0396

• IceShanty Rookie
Walleye
« on: Jan 23, 2011, 05:34 PM »
Hey guys, I am relatively new to ice fishing in PA. Most of my ice fishing time was spent in upstate NY chasing Panfish, Browns, and Lake Trout. I have never caught a decent Walleye through the ice, and have no idea how to do it. So my question to you all is what kind of tackle should I look to to get myself started? Also, is it realistic to expect to catch them through the ice here, and Do they hang out in the same kind of cover as they do the rest of the year or do they change up their game too? Thanks for the tips!

Offline crispycritter

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Walleye
« Reply #1 on: Jan 23, 2011, 09:20 PM »
where are you planning to fish what lake or river. rapalas, spoons, rattle jigs, live bait it all works go to the places you plan to fish and ask some people will give you tips. some have tight lips
life is not a journey to the grave with the expectation of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body;but rather to (skid in) broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming WOW what a ride

Offline JC0396

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 23, 2011, 10:15 PM »
Yeah, I'm learning that. I see on here a lot of people want to know GPS coordinates, times of day, what lure to use, etc. . The heck with figuring it out on your own, what fun is that, right?  I just don't know anything about fishing for walleye through the ice. I know that Prompton has good ones in it, and so does duck harbor, and White Oak. I'm planning to investigate those, more so Prompton than the rest. I just wanna know what the "routine" is from some seasoned VET. Walleye anglers.

Offline crispycritter

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 24, 2011, 05:53 AM »