Author Topic: Flasher vs Fish Finder  (Read 14053 times)

Offline Ice Foot

• IceShanty Rookie
Flasher vs Fish Finder
« on: Dec 08, 2010, 06:33 PM »
I'm new to ice fishing.  What's the difference between a flasher and a fish finder?

Also, I have a Humminbird PiranhaMax 230 PT Portable fish finder I bought for summer fishing.  Will this work for ice fishing?

Thanks

Offline Junior88

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Captain Insano Shows No Mercy !
Re: Flasher vs Fish Finder
« Reply #1 on: Dec 08, 2010, 07:15 PM »
Had a similar portable that I used a few years. It showed water depth and any fish and their depth. I liked it until I bought a flasher. A whole new way to ice fish ! Cant really explain in words, but once you use any flasher you will understand. Go to vexilar's website and watch their videos. Or check out some you-tube vids. After I bought my flasher I bought a second one for whoever went fishing with me. Having owned both the finder and the flasher I can say that the flasher is far superior for ice fishing. One more opinion of mine. I own a vexilar fl-8 and the fl-20. For the money I like the fl-8 just as much as the fl-20.

Offline filetandrelease

• Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Dec 09, 2010, 05:37 AM »
   your unit will work ,go to the vex site this will help ,i also have a vex 18 ,and a 67c lowrance ice machine , it has both graph and flasher ,i use the graph mode all the time i mostly fish deep for perch and eyes ,try your unit and see how it does then make up your mind if you want to part with your cash or not just my .02

Offline chezmoose

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Dec 09, 2010, 06:35 AM »
We have an old Humminbird Wide 100 portable that we use in addition to our flasher. If you use yours through the ice, you may need to find or build an ice transducer mount to keep the transducer from flopping around in the water.