The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: tip ups  (Read 1275 times)

Offline double_a85

• Team IceShanty Regular
tip ups
« on: Dec 21, 2011, 08:45 PM »
Hey all--- I am looking at buying some tip-ups this season. I have never used these before and have found there are a few variations. Does anyone have preferences/ suggestions for a newbie user? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Offline i c

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: tip ups
« Reply #1 on: Dec 21, 2011, 08:50 PM »
just dont get the cheapest ones wholesale sports sells.. get the ones that are a couple dollars more, way better product. i also have one of the wood style that works excellent but they are a little more spendy.

Bullelk34

« Reply #2 on: Dec 21, 2011, 08:50 PM »
I like polars, they don't freeze up and you can tell if the fish is running very easily. But truth be told, the cheap "x" style ones work well too. Saw some for $3.00 each today at Wholesale Sports. When I started ice fishing in the 80's, I bought 6 cheapos and upgraded a few at a time.

Offline J_Edwards

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Dec 21, 2011, 08:51 PM »
different people like different tip ups, what have you used? 

I'd make sure to buy quality, because taken care of most last a really long time.

Offline rambo51

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Dec 21, 2011, 08:52 PM »
Polars all the way my dad has been using them for over 30 years and still work like brand new.

~~~We Fish For The Fish That Eat The Fish You Fish For~~~
                    -MudbuM Boys

Offline i c

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Dec 21, 2011, 08:58 PM »
never tried the x style but the cheap ones i am referring to are a dark blue and only 3 dollars or so less, i believe they were ht enterprise brand.. all i know is i bought a equal number of them and the frabill ones and all the ht enterprise have missing parts. and the frabil are still going strong..

Offline MT-Ed

• Team IceShanty Regular