Author Topic: Line setup  (Read 3292 times)

Offline Michaelo

• Team IceShanty Addict
Line setup
« on: Oct 30, 2012, 02:00 PM »
What are you guys using. Last year I used all mono but I lined one reel with all flouro but didn't like the whole reel with money so was thinking mono leaders? Should I just use a swivel then like 2 or 3 feet of flouro as a leader? I was thinking the swivel to limit line twist but what pound test? I'm still pretty new to flouro. Also what pound backing would you use?

Offline Loudmouth879

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • When you find your passion pursue it like crazy
Re: Line setup
« Reply #1 on: Oct 30, 2012, 02:16 PM »
flouro for gills is a waste of money imo mono and flouro don't make a difference on the gills.

IceShanty Tournament 1st Place Muskie 2012
ISNY Tournament 2nd Place Crappie 2013, 2n

Offline Gillfisher

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Oct 30, 2012, 07:14 PM »
I have not found a swivel that will actually work with light lures and I have tried a bunch, I use an Alberto knot to attach my leaders, open water and Ice.

Here is an Astronomy lesson - The world revolves around the sun, not you!

Offline ryno

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Ditch the bobbers and get a 'tight line'
« Reply #3 on: Oct 31, 2012, 02:05 AM »
I'm not a fan of swivels for panny's.  I use back to back uni when wanting or needing a leader.  All floro is good to go on a fly reel but on a smaller spool size on a spinning reel use super line and a leader.  I feel a swivel takes away from the control and feel of small jigs used on gills.
]

Offline Michaelo

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #4 on: Oct 31, 2012, 10:54 AM »
Okay I wasn't sure what line and what pound test are you guys using.

Offline Tod

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #5 on: Oct 31, 2012, 12:04 PM »
2# P Line CXX has worked well for me the last 4 yrs fishing gills and crops and have landed some big pike on the same line. Cortland camo ice or McCoy 1# is nice for spooky clear water gills