Author Topic: Ice Jig sizes and weights - ???  (Read 5069 times)

Offline brownkr111

• IceShanty Rookie
Ice Jig sizes and weights - ???
« on: Dec 19, 2018, 10:10 PM »
Hello ice anglers! I'm new to ice fishing and I'm having trouble understanding the different measurements and sizes of various jigs. I was never good at math or numbers, mostly because I was too busy daydreaming about the hot babes in my class. Lol. Some brands use the metric system and others are imperial; some numbers or fractions refer to the weight, some the hook size, and others the jig head length or overall length. Some have just 1 number and the lower the number the bigger the jig, which I realize is typical of hooks. The Lindy Tungsten Ice Worm comes in #6, #8, and #10 and these numbers refer to hook size yet they don't list the weight or length. A Custom Jigs & Spoons Chekai comes in 3, 4, 4.5, and 5mm "sizes" which is rather vague but must refer to overall length? Northland Mud Bugs come in 1/32, 1/64, and 1/72 oz. weights.  So, what is the weight and length of the Lindy's, the weight and hook size of the Customs, and the hook size and length of the Northlands??? It seems like the only way to do this is to buy all 10 plus a tiny scale. Any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated...

Offline slipperybob

• Team IceShantyholic
  • LX5 or die...maybe extra battery.
Re: Ice Jig sizes and weights - ???
« Reply #1 on: Dec 19, 2018, 11:11 PM »
That's right...wait till you look at rods.

If you scaled actual lures, they will vary from package listed weight.
For more information read my MN nice journal

Offline jimhaney08

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Dec 20, 2018, 07:29 AM »

I hope this image link thing works.  This is for the Custom Jigs and Spins Chekai Tungsten Ice Jig.