The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Eskimo or Strikemaster?  (Read 9586 times)

Offline PikeyMikey

• IceShanty Rookie
Eskimo or Strikemaster?
« on: Dec 05, 2005, 07:09 PM »
   I need some help deciding what auger i want to buy..  I'm leaning hard toward the strikemaster.. . But I got a few people around that have had bad exp with strikemasters... They went to eskimo's..  I like the Eskimo Barracuda or the shark..

Toughest decision i've made in years....  I've had a jiffy for 15 yrs now.. the same one..    I liked it now its done its time..  They are just too !@#$ heavy...They take the abuse, but in my older age i "think" I'll take care of watever i buy..

So if it were you, Wat would you buy?

Offline tarbot

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Eskimo or Strikemaster?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 05, 2005, 09:39 PM »
My buddy and I have a Strike Master Lazer Express and it's treated us great.

PIKEGUY

« Reply #2 on: Dec 07, 2005, 11:49 AM »
My fishin partner got an Eskimo Mako last year and we had some trouble with it. Thing is, when I called Eskimo, they treated us great. Sent us a brand new powerhead no questions and were very good to work with. Must've just been a bad unit because the new one is AWESOME. Wouldn't trade it for anything, even new.

goneballistic

« Reply #3 on: Jan 14, 2006, 11:10 PM »
I just got an Eskimo Mako yesterday and drilled all day with it today,  it's AWESOME.  Starts with a minor flick of the wrist and drills great. Plenty of power and smooth hole edges and got through quickly..
It's also surprisingly quiet for a 2 cycle. I've got a Tanaka line trimmer,  a Ryobi edger and a couple of 2 cycle RC plan engines and this is MUCH quieter than any of those.

I was dreading the high pitched scream that hurts my ears but it is a pretty low exaust note and really quit.