Author Topic: The new In-line Reels....my take  (Read 20032 times)

Offline eepks

• Team IceShanty Regular
The new In-line Reels....my take
« on: Oct 31, 2012, 10:48 PM »

Offline formerSDguy

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Addict!
Re: Are these reels better than spincast?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 31, 2012, 10:54 PM »
It's said they don't create line twist. I have not personally tried a fly type real but have been thinking about it. I do however have a substantial investment in spinning reals.
Teach a kid to fish and hunt and they will be resourceful, smart and confident. Today's world is much different than the one I knew as a child. They need these skills even more than I did.

Offline beeverfishing

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Oct 31, 2012, 11:22 PM »
I have been using a fly reel for a few years now.   They are good for shallow water as most don't have a free spool feature (There is only one that I know of does, But good luck finding one now.) 
They do prevent line twist, thus minimal spinning of your jig. 
If I were to purchase a fly reel just for icefishing, I'd hold off til next year and get some reviews of the one made by eagle claw.  From what I have heard they have many features that other ice fishing / fly reel type reels don't yet have. (such as free spool).  But if you have a few laying around, by all means give one a try and see if you like it.

Offline DustyRhyno

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Giddy up!
« Reply #3 on: Nov 01, 2012, 08:11 AM »
I've also used fly reels for the last few years and have been happy with the results. It's nice to see that the ice fishing companies are all hitting the market withetheir own versions now. I still used spinning reels in deeper water (+15') but I really like the fly reels for reducing line twist without having to screw around with swivels. Also landing larger fish is a little different, just let your rod do most of the work and let go of the reel handle when the fish makes a run.

Offline Gamedog1