Author Topic: Jawjacker rod for pike?  (Read 1899 times)

Offline markinohio

• Team IceShanty Regular
Jawjacker rod for pike?
« on: Nov 07, 2019, 12:10 PM »
I’m new to both set-line fishing and pike. I know I’m not going to hook into a monster, but I do expect something bigger than the hammer handles. I’m looking for a pair of dedicated rods to use in the Jawjacker. Would like to stay economical for this set-up (under  $30/ rod), want a reel seat (already have Shimano 500 series reels for this application), and something durable enough for the Jawjacker.

35” XXH Jawjacker
31” MH Jawjacker
30” MH Ugly Stick

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Mark

Offline stinkyfingers

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Jawjacker rod for pike?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 07, 2019, 04:39 PM »
Personally I think the Jawjacker rods are like pool cues and are too heavy at the tip. Lip rippers.The UglyStick MH are too soft at the tip for good hook set. The old UglyStick ice rods were Goldilocks perfect but they changed out their layup and now they are just not right for that application. The other day at Sportsman's Warehouse  I picked up an Eagle Claw Brave Eagle in a 36" Medium and low and behold it had just the action I wanted to dedicate to JawJackers for pike. Fiberglass all the way and just the right amount of snap to drive that hook home. Tough to beat for thrifty also. How about $10.99 per copy?
We're born, we live for a while, and then we die.  Sounds like a good reason to go ice fishing.
                                                               Stinky

Offline Whytie

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Nov 07, 2019, 04:45 PM »
I went cheap and haven't had and issue yet with an ugly stik. I have two dock runners and no issues hauling in walleyes,pike, and perch. I found 36" is the way to go for jawjackers.
http://www.uglystik.com/uglystik-combos-spinning-combos/ugly-stik-dock-runner-spinning-combo/1454371.html