Author Topic: running or stopped?  (Read 2557 times)

Offline Fish Slayer_15

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Eat, Sleep, Fish :)
running or stopped?
« on: Jan 21, 2015, 07:54 AM »
Hey guys i am fairly new to pike fishing and any tips would be great! I was wondering if you guys set the hook when fish was spooling line or if you wait till it stops? Thanks  :tipup:

Offline SpartySturg

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: running or stopped?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 21, 2015, 07:56 AM »
I tend to wait unless he has had the bait for awhile and has made a run and pause already.
Good luck -  Sturg

Offline Kobey

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 21, 2015, 09:21 AM »
Depends on what type of rig I'm using.  If it's a quick strike I set it right away but if I'm using one single or treble hook I wait for the second run.  If I have my tipups spread way out, I'll usually set the hook right away.  I figure the time it takes me to walk all the way to it gives him time to turn it if he's going to.  (My days of running to flags are over)

No matter which method you use, you're going to second guess yourself after every missed fish.  Either "I should have waited longer" or "I shouldn't have waited so long".

Offline deadsmelthead

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Length 47 3/4 " Girth 24" NY Northern Pike
« Reply #3 on: Jan 21, 2015, 09:59 AM »
I get on them as fast as i can, it the spool is turning i give it some slack wait for a little tauntness and set the hook, it its stopped when i approach the trap i look to see if the line is going away from the hole, and again give it some slack and set the hook.. Guys that ive fished with that wait out the fish seem to spend alot of time putting new hooks on and losing fish.. If its moving, its in their mouth, so set the hook.. No different when your're using a rod, bend in the rod, set the hook, fish running on a tip up, set the hook..JMHO

TeamNumbnutts on youtube ... Subscribe !
https://m.youtube.com/results?q=teamnumbnutts&sm=3