The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Peck vs Boysen (or maybe Keyhole) Reservoirs  (Read 3152 times)

Offline Seedtree

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • The older I get, the better I was.
Peck vs Boysen (or maybe Keyhole) Reservoirs
« on: Jan 24, 2009, 09:06 PM »
Which do you think would be more fun to make a trip of?  I'm talking about maybe a 4 day trip staying in a motel (since I sold my old trailer) hopefully near the ice.  Don't have an ATV/Snowmobile. 

I have fished Peck many times, mostly in a boat, and that is a plus given that I know what to expect.  Did fish Boysen long ago in softwater conditions, but no longer know what that is like as far as fishing and local amenities like food and lodging.  The wild card is Keyhole, which I've been threatening to fish for several years now.  Don't know anything about Keyhole either.

Mainly looking for walleye.  Not looking to set a world record, but some decent action would be nice.  For Peck, not having an ATV is a bit of a handicap, but how about the others?  All the reservoirs are roughly similar in travel.

Any input is appreciated.

Offline pokefan1

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Peck vs Boysen (or maybe Keyhole) Reservoirs
« Reply #1 on: Jan 24, 2009, 10:01 PM »
I have fished Boysen many times and can help you out with info on it. There is a motel that is close to the lake in Shoshoni I think it is called the Desert Inn. That would be the closest place to stay near the water, I have a camper so I stay at a campground on the lakeshore.

The fishing is still good for trout, ling, walleye and perch. Early ice is best fishing but the perch fishing seems to stay good throughout if you folow them to deep water, 50-60 ft of water.

So far the last couple of weeks the fishing has been real slow, maybe due to the ammount of forage fish (lots of them) in the lake...
There is a big Derby going on this weekend on Boysen so check the Wyoming page for fishing info...