Author Topic: Any Alternatives To Mr. Buddy Portable Heater?  (Read 9041 times)

Offline jimhaney08

• Team IceShanty Addict
Any Alternatives To Mr. Buddy Portable Heater?
« on: Dec 18, 2018, 10:27 PM »
I'm relatively new to ice fishing.  Got a hub shelter (Bigfoot xl2000) and a reconditioned Mr Buddy Portable Heater last year.  Well the heater never worked right last year, but I I limped through. Tried to fix it this week using two different YouTube videos but no luck.

I'm know these are more or less the standard for heaters.  While i like the little buddy due to its simplicity, I think it's not quite enough for my non-insulated hub on cold days.  The big buddy seems like it might be overkill, especially since i may get a flip over next year.

My question is if there are any alternatives worth considering.  Maybe one of the sunflower styles?  Any advice would be appreciated.
My Setup:  Otter XL sled on a smitty.  10" Strikemaster Lithium 50 Volt auger.  Clam Bigfoot XL 2000 hub.  Garmin Striker 5 Ice Bundle.

Offline 3300

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Michigan Moderator.Not affiliated with MarCum Tech
Re: Any Alternatives To Mr. Buddy Portable Heater?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 19, 2018, 12:15 AM »
what is yours doing that is not right? maybe we can help you fix it.

Offline Agronomist_at_IA

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Team Iowa!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 19, 2018, 12:58 AM »

X2.

I had a MR heater big buddy that was a huge POS.....hated it. So went to a Mr heater cooker. I was happy with it. However I just tried a mr heater portable buddy for my one man flip. If my Mr heater big buddy worked that well I never would have switched from it.

Offline greenbulldog

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Dec 19, 2018, 01:00 AM »