The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Ridgid Octane / Mora Review  (Read 1475 times)

Offline zubie

• IceShanty Rookie
Ridgid Octane / Mora Review
« on: Dec 08, 2018, 08:05 PM »
So thanks to the Ridgid fans on iceshanty I picked up a new Octane hammer drill to pair with a new 7” Mora & Clam plate and all I can say is wow! I have been running a 700+ lb Hitachi brushless hammer drill with 6” Lazer & Clam plate for the past 5 years so I have plenty of experience with this type of setup but this new setup is impressive. The drill itself is almost too powerful, I am running it on speed 1 and I still need to feather the trigger. The one complaint I have is how much it grabs the ice as it breaks thru the bottom, I lift up to help ease the grab, but I expected it to be a little less harsh with the more flat design of the Mora compared to my Lazer. I had my fishing partner give it a try and was very impressed with the cutting speed compared to his first generation Ion. Overall I’m very happy with this new setup!

Offline DR.SPECKLER

• Team IceShantyholic
  • find your own fish..
Re: Ridgid Octane / Mora Review
« Reply #1 on: Dec 08, 2018, 08:18 PM »
Nice,im also going to be running the ridgid octane with 9ah battery on a clam plate.was going to run a 5” lazer but all ive read says it can turn a 8” easily and get quite a few holes.so i put my mora 8” auger on it.i also grabbed a extension so im not hunched over drilling holes.

Offline zubie

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 08, 2018, 08:27 PM »
It sounds like we will essentially be running the same setup... I only drilled around 20 holes tonight thru 5 inches of ice but my 9.0 battery was still at full bars. I picked up a set of 8” Swedish blades as well to switch out when the 7” get dull and yes the extension is a must.

Offline 4Buck

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 10, 2018, 08:47 AM »