The ice fishing VT boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Averill???  (Read 3088 times)

Offline walleyescooter

• IceShanty Rookie
Averill???
« on: Jan 21, 2008, 02:23 PM »
Has anyone been fishing Big Averill? I heard there's some decent trout up there... I am new to trout fishing and am interested in any basic tips for trout. How deep do you fish? Time of day? Any advice is appreciated!

Offline Browntown

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Averill???
« Reply #1 on: Jan 21, 2008, 02:36 PM »
What kind of trout are you after? There are some different techniques for rainbows vs. lakers.

Offline walleyescooter

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 21, 2008, 02:39 PM »
What kind of trout are you after? There are some different techniques for rainbows vs. lakers.

I was thinking lakers... Does Averill hold decent rainbows?

Offline Gezzah

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 22, 2008, 05:53 AM »
A good guy to ask for tips on trout and good locations is a guy on here called TRT.... Try him I hear he knows all the hotspots.
"Bragging may not bring happiness, but no man having caught a large fish goes home through an alley."

Offline hizzy19

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Jan 22, 2008, 08:59 AM »
If you are looking to get flags and catch trout, then Averill is the place to go... If you are looking for big trout I would go somewhere else... On Big Averill I recommend going out 100-200 yards from the state access(or wherever you find 40-50' depths) and drilling holes parallel with shore... Fish 2-4 feet off the bottom with smaller suckers, or maybe medium golden shiners... Smelt are ideal, but now illegal to transport alive... You should catch fish, and maybe even a legal one or two. :)

Offline TRT

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Trout/Salmon
« Reply #5 on: Jan 23, 2008, 06:01 AM »
Hey Gezzah & Walleye scooter,

I have lots of other hot spots guaranteed to get you into
quality fish. We just have to get out an freeze more often