Author Topic: SidexSide or wheeler?  (Read 1313 times)

Offline jethro

• Team IceShanty Maniac
SidexSide or wheeler?
« on: Dec 28, 2018, 10:34 AM »
I have been a sled fisherman forever. I still have sleds, I trail ride a lot. But I want to get a wheeled vehicle for year round fun and fishing when there is no snow. Is a SxS a good choice even if I'm not going to do tracks? Or is it just too heavy? I would far prefer a SxS in the summer and fall, but I'm wondering if it's just a nightmare without tracks? Maybe I should try a wheeler first? Can't seem to make up my mind.

One disadvantage is I don't think the side by side and a sled would fit in my trailer at the same time. A wheeler would fit with my sled though.

Anything I should be thinking about specifically? I'm new to wheeled off road vehicles but have rode sleds forever.
Quote- fishslap: I use a variety:  whistlin' bungholes, spleen splitters, whisker biscuits, honkey lighters, hoosker doos, hoosker don'ts, cherry bombs, nipsy daisers, with or without the scooter stick, or one single whistlin' kitty chaser

Ice safety link: http://lakeice.squarespace.com/

Offline DLB

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: SidexSide or wheeler?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 28, 2018, 02:49 PM »
You don't need tracks to ride in the winter.  I no longer have this one but its the smallest of the Polaris SxS line and never had a problem in snow a foot deep.  When I wanted to use it for ice fishing, I put a set of old tires studded with 3/8 " hex head screws in them on the rear axle.  No problems at all.
I now have the Polaris s1000 and have chains for the tires instead of the screws.

You can observe alot by watching.
Yogi Berra

Offline Whopper Stopper

• Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Dec 28, 2018, 05:52 PM »
A side x side with a heated cab is pretty sweet.

WS

Offline Mancaveburnett

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Dec 28, 2018, 06:48 PM »