Author Topic: Gas/oil mix on your Auger  (Read 3568 times)

Offline mntransplant

• Team IceShanty Regular
Gas/oil mix on your Auger
« on: Dec 24, 2009, 01:32 AM »
I researched this topic on here but i didn't see anyone who posted from AK.  I have a brand new Nils Master power auger that has never been run.  The guy who sold it to me (JP at Nils USA) said not to mix it any richer than 50:1.  After researching it on this forum i see so many people who mix it at 100:1.  Additionally it is suggested that Amsoil and Opti-2 at 100:1 are the best ones out there.  I am kinda stumped as to whats the best to do.  Should i break it in at 100:1 with synthetic, should i use the 50:1 mix as the seller claims. I just paid an arm and a leg for this darn thing and want to keep it forever.  I'm asking this in the AK section bc we deal with really extreme cold and pretty tough ice. (we also like doing what we want and not going with the Man. suggestions).  Check out this thread

http://www.iceshanty.com/ice_fishing/index.php?topic=38599.msg395331#msg395331

Thanks everyone!
James

Offline tobykoko

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Gas/oil mix on your Auger
« Reply #1 on: Dec 24, 2009, 06:37 AM »
  I retired from an electrical contractor, the largest in upstate NY, in business for 60+ yrs, $1 mil a week payroll,  who keeps around 30 line trucks on the road 24/7 loaded with just about every 2 cycle power tool imaginable. All they use is  Amsoil  ;) ;)    Good luck

Offline Drifter_016

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #2 on: Dec 24, 2009, 08:47 AM »
Break in should be done with a tank full of regular dino oil to get the rings and bearings seated/broken in first.
Then go to Amsoil or Opti2. If you go straight to synthetic the break in period is much longer and there may be issues. I used this procedure on my Strikemaster and it runs fine.

Offline xcr440

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Dec 24, 2009, 09:07 AM »