Author Topic: How to set the hook with a tip-up  (Read 3297 times)

Offline Hard and Thick

• IceShanty Rookie
How to set the hook with a tip-up
« on: Jan 22, 2007, 06:48 PM »
OK guys, I am going to try another approach. I have never used a tip-up before and I bought one that has the reel down in the water.  It looks like if a fish takes the bait it can just run with the line.  My question is how does one set the hook, do you just lift the whole contraption gently out of the water and then grab the line and give the line a jerk or what?  The way it appears is that once the fish takes off the reel turns and the flag comes up so the only way I can see to set the hook is to get to the line cause it is free spooling, is that correct?

Offline fishnnut

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
Re: How to set the hook with a tip-up
« Reply #1 on: Jan 22, 2007, 06:54 PM »
You are exactly right. For walleyes or perch I pretty much will give the line a little jerk as soon as I can get to the flag. For northerns sometimes it's not a bad idea to let them run with it a bit especially when using larger size bait. It just takes a little practice but you are right on otherwise.

Offline Strike Lead

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Oakland, Maryland
« Reply #2 on: Jan 22, 2007, 06:59 PM »