Author Topic: Anyone jigging white perch?  (Read 2708 times)

Offline Scalloper

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Eat Scallops
Anyone jigging white perch?
« on: Jan 16, 2012, 12:42 PM »
Just woundering whats some good jigs and or bait for a jig pole? We get them off and on with tip-ups but I understand some do very well jigging.
______________________ ___

Its a lazy man that cant find his wife a second job

Offline woodchip

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Anyone jigging white perch?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 16, 2012, 02:18 PM »
White perch can be found in 35'-50 ' of water in the day they move into shoals or shallows in eary morn or evening hours .I have been fishing white perch for 50 yrs, the lakes i fished as a teenager they have the same pattern today . They can be found on bottom most of the time but there are days when they are in the thermocline or close to the ice. Buy a couple of good jig poles or make them. Wooden cross sticks on discarded alumin arrow  cut to a comfortable length Wrap the handle end with electrical tape. use elec tape to keep cross sticks in proper place , the middle cross stick    curve to help keep tip off ice the rear one can be shorter , also make middle cross stick longer than the width of your hole . when placing the jig down if you get a hit it will tip up and hook your fish  on the tip leave the arrow noc. Place the cross sticks 12" apart so when you wind your line you know exactly how deep your jig is. Jig heads with a small piece of cut bait .Start out with a piece of nightcrawler. after your first fish scale a side and cut narrow strips a half inch long , cut bait will catch larger fish than worms or crawlers. A fishfinder will help show there depth quick. Go get em.

Offline lewk24

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 16, 2012, 02:22 PM »
great explanation woodchip...thats how I do it, except for the cut bait though. I will try that next time.

Luke

Offline fishingsurveyor

• Team IceShanty Maniac