Author Topic: Once you catch a pike, change holes?  (Read 4390 times)

therm66

Once you catch a pike, change holes?
« on: Jan 11, 2004, 03:02 PM »
Okay, here's a question I've not seen yet.  I'm new to this so perhaps it's common sense but I'm not sure.  Once you catch a pike through a hole in the ice, should you change holes or continue to fish same hole???

Offline Tip-Up

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
Re:Once you catch a pike, change holes?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 11, 2004, 03:56 PM »
Absolutely stay in the same hole. You'll have days when every fish comes out of one hole.

My two best fish yesterday came from the same hole.

I GPS hot holes for future use.

Offline water_wolf

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • A water_wolf in sheepheads clothing
« Reply #2 on: Jan 13, 2004, 10:12 AM »
Same hole for sure!  there always seems to be a honey hole.  Last year I caught 2 pike over 10 Lbs. and lost an even bigger one same hole  same day.
Rich Ferguson

grumpymoe

« Reply #3 on: Jan 13, 2004, 10:22 AM »
always change holes;   ;D  ;D  but for safety purposes, cover with styrofoam and mark well!!! oh; not a bad idea to post what was caught, and a fairly precise location for fellow members  ;D grump

Offline Oagie

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Jan 13, 2004, 03:21 PM »
Sounds like trickery to me ;)

Offline TroutFishingBear

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • almost 22" cuttbow, took 6 minutes to land
« Reply #5 on: Jan 14, 2004, 09:49 PM »
Depends on how much the pike are moving that day and how aggressive they are. If they are stationary, definitely change holes because only one pike will just sit in an area of about 15 sqare feet. Lake trout are the same way. If the fish are moving and are aggressive, stay in the same hole.

Honey hole can be a case, I always try for about 15 min in a hole after a catch a fish. if i dont get any more hits or marks on sonar that are interested, I move holes.