The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Wormy Blue Gills  (Read 1469 times)

Offline Crappiehunter1981

• Team IceShanty Addict
Wormy Blue Gills
« on: Jan 18, 2021, 09:55 AM »
I have been cleaning blue gills for the past 25 years of my life and I only found white parasitic worms in the meat if the gills that I harvested out of rivers and creeks.  This year I have found these same white parasitic worms in the gills that I harvested out of Black Moshannon and in a couple of the gills I harvested out of highpoint.  Has anyone else seen an increase?

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Wormy Blue Gills
« Reply #1 on: Jan 18, 2021, 10:13 AM »
I have been holding them up to the light above where I clean my fish as well.  I cleaned a pumpkin seed this year that's belly meat was basically black with them and had more worms that I could count.  I was only able to salvage about half of the loin meat.

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Jan 18, 2021, 10:14 AM »
Do you think that the spread of this parasites could be linked to the PA fish commissions fish relocation program when they drain a lake for repair?

Offline Fishbones'

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Listen to Slayer.
« Reply #3 on: Jan 18, 2021, 10:16 AM »
Yup I quit keeping gills from black mo a couple of years ago.  All of the big ones had worms in em.  Haven't found worms in the perch out there though.  But I did find worms in a few perch from Hills Creek this year, so unfortunately the perch do get em too.

The bright side is that you can still eat the fish.  Just cut the worm out and cook thoroughly.  No big deal.  I'm sure we all eat worse things in processed foods.

Offline Catchnmore1

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Jan 19, 2021, 09:12 AM »
I also found white worms in Blue Gills but also in LM Bass I caught in a farm pond in Schuylkill County about 4 or 5 years ago. I have not taken any fish from there since. Worms are located in the fillet.

Offline zcm_82

• Iceshanty Militia