Author Topic: Bait for trout  (Read 12450 times)

Offline Wiener

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Warranty Void if Seal is Broken
Bait for trout
« on: Nov 19, 2009, 07:41 AM »
What type of bait do you guys use when ice fishing for trout?

I have only caught them on minnows, or wax worms.

Do any of you use spawn sacks ?   If so,  what is your favorite rigging ? (Jigging, Tip up etc)

Thanks,

Wiener

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
Re: Bait for trout
« Reply #1 on: Nov 19, 2009, 07:46 AM »
Minnows and crawlers!  always a winner!
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline Thumber

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Sunset on Merrymeeting Lake 3/18/09
« Reply #2 on: Nov 19, 2009, 07:49 AM »

Do any of you use spawn sacks ?   If so,  what is your favorite rigging ? (Jigging, Tip up etc)

Thanks,

Wiener

What type of Trout are you referring too? Lake, Rainbows, Browns, ect.?
Hosted New England Outdoors New Hampshire Fishing Show 1989 to 1994.

Offline Wiener

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Nov 21, 2009, 12:12 PM »
Any,

I'm just trying to get an idea of what people use for their type of fishing.

Wiener

Offline Gambler

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
« Reply #4 on: Nov 21, 2009, 09:42 PM »
On stocked trout I use minnows and mealworms.
Take Care and God Bless
Rick

Offline dkfry

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Nov 22, 2009, 01:35 PM »
The few times I target trout on tipups I use a teardrop jig packed with waxworms exclusively. I do catch quite a few trout jigging for other species with jigs and spoons tipped with waxies or maggots. Sometimes I'll pick a trout up on tipups with a small minnow, but not too often. The stocked trout seem to prefer the waxies by far.

Offline Van_Cleaver

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #6 on: Nov 22, 2009, 03:21 PM »