Author Topic: Magic Flies  (Read 1892 times)

Offline rgfixit

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Magic Flies
« on: Oct 04, 2009, 03:08 PM »
I've been working up perch flies for many years. I've hit on a pattern that catches perch  like you can't believe. This morning I watched 4 boats that surrounded me go fishless while I pounded the perch one after another. The fly is an accident made from stuff I had laying around the collection. I tipped them with minnows, spikes, worms, and fished them bare. I caught perch any way I fished them.

I was originally looking for a slow dropping, bead head fly to use for crappies with live bait. I fish a lot of snags and donate more than my fair share of terminal tackle to the fish gods. I first fished them yesterday. I caught crappies, bass, drum, pike, channel cats, rock bass, perch, white perch and silver bass. Worked like a charm on the crappies.

Today I went to one of my favorite perch lakes and decided to do some further testing. I was impressed....the other guys were, no doubt, depressed.

It's a simple pattern, anyone with any tying experience at all will know exactly ho to build it.

Have fun ;D

RG
"Did you ever get the feeling that the world was a tuxedo and you were a pair of brown shoes?"

Offline beeverfishing

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Magic Flies
« Reply #1 on: Oct 04, 2009, 03:52 PM »
Sounds like you need more testing done.  Send me a few of them and I will give you my results  ;D ;D

Offline bigbucky1

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Oct 04, 2009, 09:15 PM »
If ya need some "testing" further west let me know.  I am willing to help ya out.
<br />

Offline pikeking

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Oct 04, 2009, 10:41 PM »
RG, do you mind if I try tying it? And if it's ok, what materials did you use? We can trade some patterns if you want. I have a few that work pretty good too.
If fishing was work I'd never be sick!

Offline rgfixit

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity