Author Topic: Hand auger not cutting  (Read 10641 times)

Offline nixstyx

• Team IceShanty Regular
Hand auger not cutting
« on: Jan 17, 2016, 08:09 PM »
I have a Strikemaster Mora 6-inch hand auger and for some reason it just won't cut.  It slides around on the ice rather than digging in. I got it to cut a few holes, but it took me five minutes of rocking it back and forth while turning it to get through the 3 inches of ice we had. Then, I put brand new blades on it today (the good ones, not made in China -- and they're razor sharp) but it's still not working. It doesn't seem to bite into the ice. And yes, I double checked to make sure I didn't put the blades on wrong.

Anyone ever see this problem or have ideas?

Offline rpeterson

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: Hand auger not cutting
« Reply #1 on: Jan 17, 2016, 08:12 PM »
Needs new blades. Make sure you buy the blades made in Sweden Chinese ones are junk

Offline Gills-only

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • When hell freezes over, I'll ice fish there too!!
« Reply #2 on: Jan 17, 2016, 08:12 PM »
Did it have shims ? very little thin metal strips similar to a beer can trimmed to a thin slice.  If not might have to make some and try them to change angle and make it cut!  They can be made out of a beer can.

Offline Beets

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • If you don't like the way I fish,stay away from me
« Reply #3 on: Jan 17, 2016, 10:39 PM »
If you lean on the auger really hard it can change the angle and dull the blades to where it won't dig.
Also cutting into sandy ice will dull the blades quicker.
Shims will help the needed angle. if you know someone that has an auger you can compare,it might show if and where its bent.
When you do get it right,it should cut easy and keep the blades sharp.
I use a magic marker on the edge and lightly sharpen it back to the factory edge/angle.
Tight lines
....<°)))))>{
<°)))))>{
        <°)))))>{

Offline panfishman13

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Jan 17, 2016, 11:36 PM »