Author Topic: Waterproofing wooden tip downs?  (Read 2778 times)

Offline mistertwister

• Team IceShanty Addict
Waterproofing wooden tip downs?
« on: Nov 13, 2016, 08:42 AM »
Hey fellow hard water walkers...I'm just about finished building my tip downs, and I'm wondering what if any recommendations you have for waterproofing/sealing the wood? I bought linseed oil originally but I wasn't sure if that would be good, now I have some Tung Oil which I know would work but I hear it is a pain to work with (especially because I am a total rookie with woodworking). Any suggestions on what to use? I would like these to last and am afraid of the wood warping from getting wet etc.

Online hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

Offline Baetis62

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Waterproofing wooden tip downs?
« Reply #2 on: Nov 13, 2016, 09:43 AM »

http://www.minwax.com/wood-products/clear-protective-finishes/interior-exterior/minwax-helmsman-spar-urethane

I've been using this stuff in the spray can.  Easy to work with and the results are good.  2 or 3 thin coats with light sanding between seems to work best.

Offline esox_xtm

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • It's Showtime!
« Reply #3 on: Nov 13, 2016, 10:08 AM »
Tung (Danish) oil is not much different to work with than linseed (now that is messy). Tung dries faster and much harder than linseed. If you used "pretty" wood and it were me I'd go the oil route. I just looks that much nicer on nice wood. Just wipe on a few coats letting each one dry at least overnight in a warm place (like not outside).