The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Perch depth  (Read 1865 times)

Offline iamsamuell3rd

• IceShanty Rookie
Perch depth
« on: Feb 02, 2021, 08:56 AM »
Hello all.  I am pretty new to ice fishing, been chasing perch alot this year.  We had some really good luck in December but the last couple weeks has been tough to find keeper size perch.  We get into a large number of tiny perch but only a small handful of decent sized ones.  I have 2 questions
1- are the bigger ones just in a different depth range?
2- will they be in similar depths in different bodies of water or does it change for each different lake?
I know these are total rookie questions I appreciate any feedback.  Thank you

Offline BigSage

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Whack'm n Stack'm
Re: Perch depth
« Reply #1 on: Feb 02, 2021, 11:11 AM »
Drill lots of holes, and use your sonar if you have one.  Perch move around a ton.  You need to be mobile to find them.
I found lots of good perch on Sunday in 25-30 fow.   I drilled upwards of 40 holes.

Offline RuralMT

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Feb 02, 2021, 03:10 PM »
FWIW, February is typically a tough month to fish, as most lakes are experiencing some degree of mid-winter doldrums.  But in the lakes I fish, perch tend to school up by size; if you're into the small ones, as BigSage suggested, move around a bit.  I wouldn't necessarily abandon the area, as there is likely a food source attracting the smaller perch and they themselves are a food item for the bigger perch.  Often, a small move of 10-15 yards can put you onto some bigger fish. 

2- will they be in similar depths in different bodies of water or does it change for each different lake?