The Iceshanty Ice Auger Board is sponsored by
Nils Master Authorized Sharpening Service

Author Topic: Power Augers  (Read 4593 times)

Offline Kybar

• IceShanty Rookie
  • FLAG!!!
Power Augers
« on: Feb 13, 2007, 01:24 PM »
I'm relatively new to the sport, and am currently using a hand auger for all of my fishing.  Just wondered what some of the veterans had to say about all of the power augers on the market.  I probably won't be able to afford one this year, but maybe I'll find a deal in the off season somewhere.  What would you guys recommend?

Offline Buck1985

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • The story of my life
Re: Power Augers
« Reply #1 on: Feb 13, 2007, 01:25 PM »
 I really like my Strikemaster Lazer hand auger
The fishing is always great, the catching however, always isn't

Offline fozsey

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Feb 13, 2007, 01:30 PM »
It depends a lot on where you you will be going and what you fish for. Some here will tell you imphatically to buy a Nils. I think any of the reputable augers on the market will give you many trouble free years of service assuming you take care of them. I have a strikemaster mag ultra. I don't think they make them anymore. If I was buying another I would probably get another strikemaster although I personally have nothing against Nils, Jiffypop, Eskimo or any others.

The early bird might get the worm but the second mouse will always get the cheese...

Offline dkfry

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Feb 13, 2007, 01:42 PM »
Power Auger Jiffy Stealth and hand auger Strikemaster Lazer. Spare blades for both. The last augers you'll have to buy.

Offline mcarolan

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Feb 13, 2007, 01:55 PM »
The Guy I fish a lot with uses a Jiffy Lectric Auger powered by a small car battery, you can get about 35 holes in 3 foot of ice out of it before she starts to power out.
Good thing about it is that you pull up drop the tail bored and drill. Easy!

Makes a decent size hole too about 8 inch.