Author Topic: what's a "dropper"  (Read 1540 times)

Offline wackyworm

• IceShanty Rookie
what's a "dropper"
« on: Feb 28, 2005, 12:49 PM »
I'm a beginner and still learning. Is this a short piece of line tied to a Hali or jigging Rapala with a small jig and wax worm attached.  If so, what keeps the dropper from entangling in the Hali or Rapala when you jig the setup?

What is the science behind this setup.  Does it trigger a perch to strike? I'm interested in hearing from those who have used this technique. :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Offline C.C.

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • DO NOT BE AFRAID !!!!
Re: what's a "dropper"
« Reply #1 on: Feb 28, 2005, 01:06 PM »
In my opinion it is the best thing ever invented. (after the auger of course) I like to use it  on all my jigging spoons. I use a little red mesquito hook with a 2" or 3"  leader to the spoon. As far as the tangle part I don't know for sure what to tell you but with my vex. I can see both things.
     Jim

missfishylicious

« Reply #2 on: Feb 28, 2005, 01:57 PM »
I think the theory is .the spoon attracts them and they hit the smaller jig or fly
works for me on perch, most years anyway .this ones been a hard one.I don't seem to have trouble with tangles  :-\.

Offline TJG

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • It's like xmas, 6-8 inchs of solid ice!!!
« Reply #3 on: Feb 28, 2005, 02:47 PM »
The reason it does not tangle is it is so short. But the main thing you have to remember is not to jig it too hard. Perch are finiky most of the time anyway so just an inch or 2 is the max. Most of the time it is just a nudge that should be done.

missfishylicious

« Reply #4 on: Feb 28, 2005, 03:58 PM »
or just wiggle the tip lightly and pull it away from them slowly.

bib brother

« Reply #5 on: Feb 28, 2005, 04:08 PM »