Author Topic: Dear seasoned fishermen...  (Read 2022 times)

Offline Derek

• IceShanty Rookie
Dear seasoned fishermen...
« on: Dec 10, 2011, 11:20 PM »
How did you Target suspended crappies before electronics? I have been fishing for four years now and my second with a vexilar. I never caught a slab until I purchased it. I have friends who would like to fish with me, but feel bad bringing them along when can not see the crappies which is basically the only thing in the lake. Any old tips? Thanks

Offline matt12

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Dear seasoned fishermen...
« Reply #1 on: Dec 10, 2011, 11:24 PM »
as long as you have the flasher, find the depth they are coming in at and have your buddies set up some dead sticks around that range. then have them set up a jig type rod and set a bobber knot at around the depth they are coming in. they will catch them if tthey are there.

Offline slipperybob

• Team IceShantyholic
  • LX5 or die...maybe extra battery.
« Reply #2 on: Dec 11, 2011, 12:26 AM »
A little slip bobber is what I used a lot before the flasher.  It's pre-rigged at home and set to ten feet.  Then change it higher or lower depending on water depth.  However, I've also done the count the reel handle turn as I drop my jig down the water column.
For more information read my MN nice journal

Offline IceFisher64

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Dec 11, 2011, 08:15 AM »
trial and error

Offline Swift

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Dec 11, 2011, 09:25 AM »
A reasonable understanding of the water and work the whole water column, day or night. Can only locate the hot biters that way but it did work, run and gun. Still an effective way to find Perch, just only need to work the bottom 3'-4'. Picked up a "Green Box" in the early '70s, never left home without it, not finding fish wasn't much of an issue

Offline icejunky

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • TEAM ONTARIO
« Reply #5 on: Dec 11, 2011, 09:45 AM »