Author Topic: Hardbead spoonin  (Read 3606 times)

Offline Bigggcountry

• IceShanty Rookie
  • I'm not a man prone to sharing my secrets.
Hardbead spoonin
« on: Nov 17, 2014, 08:09 PM »
Lookin to give these western perch something new to look at this winter. I've read and watched YouTube vids on these spoons. Do the work in deeper (20'+) water?  Seems like with the small hook gap you'd loose a lot. Is there any trick to working them? 

Thanks
Biggg

Offline Elrik

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Hardbead spoonin
« Reply #1 on: Nov 17, 2014, 08:56 PM »
Once you set the hook crank the fish up fast and don't give them any slack or there is a strong chance they won't make it up the hole. Pay for the good ones made out of steel or copper for fishing deep. You would fall asleep before the cheap tin ones hit the bottom in 20' +.

Offline Jigmup

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 20, 2014, 11:30 AM »
Are these the same as "russian spoons"? The kind with a curved blade with a single hook coming off the bottom with a bead on it?

If so, I would say 20 ft would be the limit. I frequently perch fish 45 to 55 feet deep and I think I would go out of my mind waiting for it to get down only to watch a fish move on before it hit 30 foot!
Never tell a fish where its supposed to be

Offline Elrik

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Nov 20, 2014, 07:10 PM »
Are these the same as "russian spoons"? The kind with a curved blade with a single hook coming off the bottom with a bead on it?

If so, I would say 20 ft would be the limit. I frequently perch fish 45 to 55 feet deep and I think I would go out of my mind waiting for it to get down only to watch a fish move on before it hit 30 foot!

It is the same thing, but like i said, if you get the larger sizes of the ones made of brass or steel they work. I know guys on simcoe who fish them down past 50'.

Offline Jigmup

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Nov 21, 2014, 05:49 AM »