New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Started fishing again this year ...now I'm ready to go ice fishing.  (Read 621 times)

Offline Raqdrew

• IceShanty Rookie
Hello all
Newbie here
I've picked up fishing again this year. My daughter loves it. We have been doing mostly saltwater. Started surf fishing at Jones beach this past fall. Had good times, loved it.We were bummed the season was over..but was it? In comes ice fishing!! I got the gear almost ready to go. Thinking of going to lake George to start with. Any advice about anything and everything would be most appreciated. We are driving up from Yonkers probably the weekend of the 20th.

Thank ya
Andrew

Offline Stka

• IceShanty Rookie
Welcome Raqdrew. Lake George has a lot of options. Are you planning to use tipups,  jig or both? What species of fish are you hoping to target?

Offline KeukaZ71

• Team IceShanty Addict
Welcome. My advice to any newbie is drill a new hole if you don't get a bite after a few minutes. Keep drilling until you get bites.

Offline Flyingmaggot

• IceShanty Rookie
Warm clothing is probably the number 1 most important thing for ice fishing.  If you get cold you can't fish effectively. It gets overlooked many times on here because seasoned ice fishermen know it's cold. We don't think, 'it's 20 degrees, it's cold'. We look at 20 as a beautiful day as long as the wind isn't too bad. We look more to the best ways to fool fish now.   

You're standing on a sheet of frozen water. Cutting holes in the ice to get to water that is freezing cold(literally). So keep your feet warm. Really warm. Because if you're not standing directly on the ice,  you're standing in snow. Or slush with snow over it.

If your feet, hands and head stay warm. You are going to have a great day on the ice, regardless of the fish count. I've brought numerous new folks out, the biggest thing is to stay warm.