The ice fishing Michigan board sponsored by:

Sponsor this board

Author Topic: what brand of hand ice auger ??  (Read 3301 times)

Offline cltaylor

• IceShanty Rookie
what brand of hand ice auger ??
« on: Jan 29, 2007, 08:21 AM »
whats a good ice auger to buy? i got a strickmaster mora 6" that work good last year, but wont cut worth a sh!!t i,ve sharping the blades, but still no go i think its out of alingment or sum thing, any insight on the eskimo 6" BARRACUDA TURBO  seen its on sale at gander mt for 39.00 bucks! 10.00 more then a new mora!!

Offline USMarine2001

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: what brand of hand ice auger ??
« Reply #1 on: Jan 29, 2007, 08:36 AM »
I got the eskimo barracuda 10 inch power, got it about 4 years ago thing works great.

Offline Boots

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 29, 2007, 12:10 PM »
I have the 6 inch Lazer, thing works great.

Offline Shakespeare

• IceShanty Rookie
  • To fish, or not to fish...
« Reply #3 on: Jan 29, 2007, 02:17 PM »
Sure you put the blades on right?

Might have sharpened them on a wrong angle.

New blades are cheaper than a new auger.

Offline Buck1985

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • The story of my life
« Reply #4 on: Jan 29, 2007, 02:19 PM »
I have an 8 inch Lazer, raced 3 gas augers, I'm 3-0  ;D, but I'm not a small guy either
The fishing is always great, the catching however, always isn't

pinche

« Reply #5 on: Jan 29, 2007, 03:51 PM »
yeah buy two sets of blades. Most local bait shops will sharpen them at a reasonable price . When one set gets dull just switch em out and send the dull pair in to be sharpened.

walleyechaser

« Reply #6 on: Jan 29, 2007, 03:57 PM »
those blades are very easy to screw up if you try to sharpen them yourself and don't know what you're doing.
2 sets is a great idea.

Offline mineral723

• IceShanty Rookie
  • If there's ice, I'm at the Banana Dyke.
« Reply #7 on: Jan 29, 2007, 05:53 PM »
6" lazer.  I love it.  Beats the spud bar.

Offline Tommyboy18769