Author Topic: Do I really need a flip-over shack?  (Read 10440 times)

Offline eskimo roll

• IceShanty Rookie
Do I really need a flip-over shack?
« on: Aug 27, 2010, 12:43 PM »
Ok, been looking at flip-overs and I'm starting to wonder if my partner and I can pull the weight.  Are they really worth it?  What fishing advantages other than weather protection are there?  I've been ice-fishing for over 30 years without one, granted there are some days where I don't last as long as I should due to the cold, but generally it doesn't bother me that much.  I've read all the posts about putting them on skiis in deep snow, but are there other ways to make these easier to pull?  I don't have the cash for a 4-wheeler or snow machine and alot of times we don't have the ice to drive on (I fish Iowa and Nebraska, mostly).  What are your opinions?  Thanks for the help, the folks on this forum really are what make this site great.

Offline duck doctor

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Do I really need a flip-over shack?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 27, 2010, 12:45 PM »
I never had a portable until this past season. I can tell you that I will never fish without one again. Even if I don't use it, it will be with me. The portable extended my wife's stay on the ice from a couple of hours to all day!

Offline eskimo roll

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Aug 27, 2010, 12:52 PM »
So, is the wife staying a positive or a negative?  ;D Just kidding, mine hates walking on the ice, never got used to the idea. 

Offline james

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Aug 27, 2010, 01:24 PM »
If weight is an issue you might consider one of the pop up hub shelters, or even a suitcase portable like a shappell that come with skis that fold into the sled.

Offline duck doctor

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Aug 27, 2010, 01:26 PM »
If weight is an issue you might consider one of the pop up hub shelters, or even a suitcase portable like a shappell that come with skis that fold into the sled.