Author Topic: What do I need for crappie fishing?  (Read 2215 times)

Offline michigancrappieman

• IceShanty Rookie
What do I need for crappie fishing?
« on: Jan 22, 2010, 05:37 PM »
I've ice fished a few times in my life but never got serious. I want to start doing it more. I wanted to know what I need to start out. I would like to know what your favorite rods, reels, lines, jigs, baits, and what ever else you use are. I have a Strikemaster 8 inch lazer agur so I don't need an auger. Just everything else. It's always overwhelming for me when I take up a new hobby. Thanks in advance for your help.

Offline fish4kitty

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Frabill Trekker 2
Re: What do I need for crappie fishing?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 25, 2010, 06:38 PM »
I run a 30" cadillac elite rod (it is ultra light), okuma ul 10 reel spooled with 2# stren line. I buy my jigs all over the place. Last batch got them from custom jigs and spins. Great jigs for sure. Use mousies or a combo of plastics and a ureo maggot red and whites and some days they only take a pin head minnow. These are just my choices for crappie. They work for me. Good luck.
Having a crappie day and loving it!

Offline slipperybob

• Team IceShantyholic
  • LX5 or die...maybe extra battery.
« Reply #2 on: Jan 25, 2010, 11:55 PM »
well at least a fishing pole, line, and hooks... ;D

My favorite combo is.

Thorne bros panfish rod 32" paired with a Shimano Chronarch 50Mg reel spooled with 2# Gamma ESP line.

The prior favorite combo was.
Thorne Bros. panfish rod 32" paired with a Shimano Sustain 1000 FE reel spooled with 2# Gamma ESP line.

I started out with
Shakespeare Ugly Lite rod 27" with a Shakespeare Intrepid 30 reel spooled with 6# Trilene Microice.