Author Topic: Buying gear  (Read 1013 times)

Offline Bryfish84

• Team IceShanty Regular
Buying gear
« on: Feb 09, 2018, 11:01 PM »
So I am still fairly new to ice fishing. When is the best time of year to get the beat deals on equiptment? I was thinking about buying a Clam drill plate and a new pop up shelter for next season.

Offline Super-ice-bird

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • That's a fifth next to that brown!
Re: Buying gear
« Reply #1 on: Feb 09, 2018, 11:15 PM »
End of the season (end of February through March), when all the sporting goods stores clearance ice gear. That and Christmas is when you can get the best deals.
Come on fish!

Offline RyanW

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Feb 10, 2018, 03:05 AM »
Shelters, definitely at the end of the season. Stores don’t want to store stuff like that all year. Try to haggle more of a discount if you can, never hurts.

Clam Plate, you’d probably have better luck on eBay or waiting until the start of next season and get one fast. Items like the Clam Plate are one of those things that only get a certain number produced each season. So, when they are out of stock, they are out of stock until next season. I got lucky and found one locally about a month ago. Last one they had and out of stock everywhere else I’ve seen.
“When the fish are biting, it really doesn’t matter what you’re using. When the fish aren’t biting, it really doesn’t matter what you’re using” - Uncle Dave

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #3 on: Feb 10, 2018, 06:07 AM »