Author Topic: Spooling spinning reels?  (Read 858 times)

Offline markinohio

• Team IceShanty Regular
Spooling spinning reels?
« on: Dec 17, 2021, 09:11 PM »
I'm a panfish guy and restrict my fishing depth to 30' (C&R safe depths), and usually under 20'.

I've been using 3lb Pline fluroclare for several years with good results. I buy in bulk, and fill the spool just like soft water spinning rods.

I want to try Clam Frost which is significantly more expensive. I use 100% flurocarbon on soft water for the quicker drop, and want to try some more visible color (pink) on the ice. Only interested in using flurocarbon as a running line (not just a leader).

For those that use flurocarbon as a running line....

Do you completely fill the spool with the line?

Use another line as backing?

Or, just under fill the spool enough for your fishing conditions?

Thanks,
Mark

Offline slipperybob

• Team IceShantyholic
  • LX5 or die...maybe extra battery.
Re: Spooling spinning reels?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 17, 2021, 11:18 PM »
If the reel is dedicated to fluorocarbon, it's spooled up entirely of fluorocarbon line.  Otherwise it's typically just some yardage of fluorocarbon over something else.  For me it's usually braid underneath and you could say it's an attached fluorocarbon line length about 20 yards.  I don't like this set up as sometimes the line on the spool catches the knot.  So I bury my knot into the underlayer lines.  However if I had learned the FG knot it probably would've just flowed through easy.
For more information read my MN nice journal

Offline Icefishingute

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 18, 2021, 12:02 AM »