The ice fishing VT boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Big lakers out of Elligo  (Read 2441 times)

Offline Light liner

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Rather be judged by 12 then carried by 6.
Big lakers out of Elligo
« on: Jan 17, 2024, 07:35 PM »
There’s been some big lakers being caught at Elligo. Is there decent size perch in there also?
Champlain
Memphremagog

Offline vt-jig

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Big lakers out of Elligo
« Reply #1 on: Jan 19, 2024, 11:58 PM »
My biggest laker there (so far) had been about 15",    and biggest perch was bait sized.      If it's popping off, I'd definitely get on it and enjoy.   Nice place but giants aren't the norm.   I'm no expert though. Obviously there's gonna be SOME tanks. It gets pretty deep in places.   I haven't been by this season yet.   Any word on it's ice conditions?
"Guys, Come look! This perch is as big as my house!"

Offline lowaccord66

• Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #2 on: Jan 20, 2024, 06:48 PM »
If you want big lakers theres a better lake...just needs to freeze in the right spots.

Offline vt-jig

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 27, 2024, 12:03 PM »
If you want big lakers theres a better lake...just needs to freeze in the right spots.
      the Death Lake  ::)   

Offline Vtperchchaser

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 30, 2024, 05:19 AM »
It’s been a number of yrs since I fished elligo. I use to travel everywhere in search of the most giant perch we could find. Caught some beauty’s out of elligo. Not a lot of them. Typical size we caught was 8-9”. Also typical size laker we’d catch was 12-16”. We fished the deep channel towards the ledges multiple days both jigging with big bait and set up all dif depths for lakers and no big ones. Caspian is pretty good for lakers. Once again another lake I haven’t visited in many yrs. My new obsession is walleye and pike. Scary last few yrs how little ice we’ve had

Offline GrubSprings

• IceShanty Rookie