Author Topic: new flip over portables  (Read 3135 times)

Offline 98600xc

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Nothin beats the vexilar!
new flip over portables
« on: Dec 06, 2009, 10:07 AM »
i am not new ice fishing but I am new to this sight and this year i am looking to buy a new portable.  I am thinking about the clam nanook but i am not sure.  i am also some what interested in the frabill trekker dlx or trekker II.  feeedback would be nice thanks

Offline dairyman

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: new flip over portables
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2009, 10:25 AM »
I had the same problem--------undecided as to the clam or frabill----------I sat in them both quite a lot.  I bought the clam Kodiak yesterday.  It was that or the Commando---but the clam won out
---------deeper tub
---------seemed to be better designed and heavier construction too
---------seat fit my legs better-----didn't feel like they were dangling like commando

Offline 98600xc

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 06, 2009, 12:27 PM »
thanks for the info.  so I should probably go with the nanook over the trekker II?

Offline ice 45

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Dec 06, 2009, 12:50 PM »
I bought the kodiak for my one man and i bought the trekker II for a two man shack i liked the seats better in the frabill

"The temptation to quit will be greatest just before you are about to succeed."

Offline Bean

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Dec 06, 2009, 12:57 PM »
i am not new ice fishing but I am new to this sight and this year i am looking to buy a new portable.  I am thinking about the clam nanook but i am not sure.  i am also some what interested in the frabill trekker dlx or trekker II.  feeedback would be nice thanks

The only way to truly know is to check them out yourself. You could be 6'6" tall and someone telling you what they bought could be 5'6" tall.  Sit in them both, check out how they are made, and decide what feels best for you.