Author Topic: Crappies thru the ice ????  (Read 15152 times)

Fish On

Crappies thru the ice ????
« on: Dec 15, 2002, 04:24 PM »
I am just getting into crappie fishing thru the ice this year and i am have a ROUGH TIME , i am fishing pymatuming lake in andover , ohio  . i did good there in the spring during the spawn , after the spawn was over i guess they left and went to deeper water as it warmed up , my question to you guys is where should i fish for them in the winter thru the ice ..shallow or deep water or shallow water with structure ???? any certian jigs i should buy or just use a minnow and a bobber ???? any help would be greatly appreciated thanks in advance to all

joe

Offline Bob_G

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • crappie nut
Re: Crappies thru the ice ????
« Reply #1 on: Dec 16, 2002, 04:47 AM »
Fish On, Is the ice good on pymie? I was fishing Arthur last night and the bite was tough. I pulled four crappies out and lost one at the hole. I was using maggots, on a glow demon, waxworms on a forage minnow, and I used maggots on a gold genz worm.  I had hits on a jigging rapala with a minnow head. I also caught 6 bluegills. all fish were released but, that is not going to last long I am getting hungry for some panfish. Good luck and be safe.  

Offline Hard_H2O

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Dec 16, 2002, 05:48 AM »
One thing you have to remember with crappies is that they feed up. You usually have to have the bait and lure above them. Electronics help a lot with crappies due to the fact that they do not always key into the bottom. Crappies are often suspended so you need to find the depth they are at and put the bait over their nose. I love the demon for crappies. Tip it with waxies, eurolarvae, or minnows.

In Minnesota we can use two lines through the ice. I run one stick with a demon and a minnow below a bobber and one jig with waxies on a jigging stick.

wisconsinboy

« Reply #3 on: Dec 16, 2002, 07:17 AM »