Author Topic: How to catch brown trout  (Read 12898 times)

Offline flagrunner88

• IceShanty Rookie
How to catch brown trout
« on: Mar 06, 2009, 05:16 PM »
Hi I have been fishing for only a few years and I have yet to catch a Brown trout I have a lake that has plenty and they are stocked but i was wondering how deep what to use for bait wat kind of leader how big of a hook and so on any tips greatly appreciated

Offline brown-time

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Jig one up for me
Re: How to catch brown trout
« Reply #1 on: Mar 06, 2009, 08:40 PM »
Much depends on what the browns feed on in your lake.  Here at Blue Mesa in Colorado, where we catch lots of browns, the fish feed real shallow real early, 5-10 feet, then move to 20-50 feet down after the sun gets on the water.  I like to start with a gold or firetiger Kastmaster on one rod, jigging pretty steady, and a chartreuse or white glow tube deadsticked with a mealworm on a rod 3-4 feet away.  Usually right off the bottom. Then a white jigging Rapala and a chartreuse or brown/yellow Ratso combo moved into 20-40 feet after about 9 O'clock.  Our browns feed mainly on crawdads, small perch minnows and bigger 6" late stocked rainbow trout or kokanee smelt.  A white #4 or 5 Swedish Pimple jigged down the hole will sometimes catch a hog brown or the occasional laker that comes in to look also.

Offline HARDTOP

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • MACK ATTACK
« Reply #2 on: Feb 14, 2010, 10:41 AM »
Browns are meat eaters sucker meat works best but shinners strips of salmon bellie fresh prowns from the store also work well attract them by jigging slow and on the bottom

Offline Wiener

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Warranty Void if Seal is Broken
« Reply #3 on: Feb 14, 2010, 03:53 PM »
The setup that works for me is #10 Berkley Transition or Florocarbon fishing line and very small hooks.  I usually use treble hooks that are #16 to #20.